Board of directors

Advocate Kgomotso Moroka SC

Kgomotso joined our Board as Chairman and independent non-executive director on 1 June 2010. A practising senior advocate, she is Chairman of the Nomination Committee, a member of the combined Remuneration and Nomination Committee and a permanent invitee to all other committee meetings.

Mark Moffett

Mark, who was appointed to our Board on 22 September 2014, currently operates an independent consultancy in South Africa. He has extensive experience in mining finance, having spent over 25 years in senior financial positions in Anglo American plc and the De Beers Group, as Chief Financial Officer of Xstrata Alloys South Africa and Group Controller for Xstrata plc. He is a member of the Audit and Risk Committee.

Thoko Mokgosi-Mwantembe

Thoko, who was appointed to the RBPlat Board in November 2014, is currently the Chief Executive of the Kutana Investments Group. She previously held executive positions at Telkom Limited, Lucent Technologies, Siemens Telecommunications, Alcatel SA and Hewlett Packard SA, where she was the Chief Executive Officer. She became a member of the Remuneration and Nomination and Social and Ethics committees on 19 November 2014 and was appointed Chairman of the Remuneration Committee on 1 May 2015.

Mike Rogers

Mike, who was appointed to the Board as a non-executive director on 7 December 2009, is Chairman of the Social and Ethics Committee. In his former role as Executive Head of Joint Ventures at Anglo American Platinum Mike gained an in-depth understanding of RBPlat’s operations. He became an independent nonexecutive director of RBPlat in February 2014.

Louisa Stephens

Louisa joined the RBPlat Board on 29 September 2014 and is Chairman of the Audit and Risk Committee. She is currently an independent financial trader at Prime Select Holdings. She was previously Chief Investment Officer of Circle Capital Ventures Proprietary Limited, General Manager Investments and Finance at Nozala Investments Proprietary Limited and a fund manager at the National Empowerment Fund’s Corporate Fund (uMnotho Fund) after gaining experience in acquisitions and leverage finance in Rand Merchant Bank’s Investment Banking Division

David Wilson

David, who represents RBH, was appointed to our Board as a non-executive director on 29 May 2014. Prior to joining the investment team at RBH, he was a director and Head of Mergers and Acquisitions for sub-Saharan Africa at Deutsche Bank, South Africa. Before joining Deutsche Bank in 2004 he was an Associate Director, Corporate Finance at HSBC South Africa and Vice President, Corporate Finance at ING Barings, South Africa. He is a member of the Social and Ethics Committee.

Obakeng Phetwe

Obakeng was appointed to our Board as a non-executive director on 28 February 2018. He is the current Chief Executive Officer of the Royal Bafokeng Nation Development Trust. He previously held the positions of Group Treasury and Business Manager for the Royal Bafokeng Nation; Finance Manager for the Royal Bafokeng Administration; and Senior Audit Manager at Mokua and Associates, Chartered Accountants.

Peter Ledger

Peter was appointed to our Board as a non-executive director on 28 February 2018. He has over 20 years’ experience as an executive director and non-executive director, having held a number of non-executive directorships of listed companies including Foskor, Aquarius Platinum, Lonmin PLC and Ridge Mining PLC. He was chairman of the Master Drilling Group from 2012 to 2014.

Steve Phiri

Steve was appointed to the Board as Chief Executive Officer (CEO) on 1 April 2010. He chairs the Executive Committee and the BRPM Joint Venture Management Committee and attends all committee meetings as an invitee. Steve was CEO of Merafe Resources, a company listed on the JSE, for six years before joining RBPlat.